United Arab Emirates digital nomad visa: requirements
United Arab Emirates's Virtual Work Visa / Residence visa for working outside the UAE requires an income of at least USD 3,500 per month. It is granted for 12 months, and it can be renewed.
The official pages we read do not state the fee. We show these as "Not stated" rather than estimate them.
What the official pages state
| Fact | What the official page states | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Minimum income | USD 3,500 per monthOfficial wordingSubmit proof that he has a monthly income of no less than (3,500) US dollars or the equivalent in foreign currencies. | www.gdrfad.gov.ae read 2026-10-02 |
| Who can apply | Employee of a company abroad Working for a company outside the UAE Official wordingUnder a virtual work visa, a foreigner may live in the UAE while working for a company outside the UAE. | u.ae read 2026-10-02 |
| Stay granted | 12 months One-year residence, extendable Official wordingThe virtual work has a one-year, extendable period of residence from the date of issuance. | www.gdrfad.gov.ae read 2026-10-02 |
| Renewable | Yes Extendable Official wordingThe virtual work has a one-year, extendable period of residence from the date of issuance. | www.gdrfad.gov.ae read 2026-10-02 |
| Official fee | Not stated Official pages disagree: Dubai GDRFA lists AED 200 plus VAT, the federal ICP page lists different amounts. | — |
| Processing time | 2 days ICP: service completion duration 2 days. Official wordingService Completion Duration 2 Days | icp.gov.ae read 2026-10-02 |
| Family can join | Yes Can sponsor family for the same period Official wordingFor the same period, he can sponsor his family. | www.gdrfad.gov.ae read 2026-10-02 |
| Where to apply | Online Digital channels (website/app) or in-person at Amer Service Centers; u.ae says apply to ICP or GDRFA Dubai Official wordingDigital channels (website/smart application): 1. Log in to the smart services system through (UAE Pass or username). | www.gdrfad.gov.ae read 2026-10-02 |
| Documents | Full document checklist and step-by-step plan are in the printable guide. See the guide | — |